Transformation to direct speech needed!

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
barbarus
Textkit Neophyte

Transformation to direct speech needed!

Post by barbarus »

Hello,
can someone please help me to transform the blue verse below into direct speech?
It was Alexander's favourite verse from the Ilias.
It means: "to be brave, and to take the lead in the ranks of the foremost"

Here you can find it: XI, 784 (or VI, 208)

Πηλεὺς μὲν ᾧ παιδὶ γέρων ἐπέτελλ᾽ Ἀχιλῆϊ
αἰὲν ἀριστεύειν καὶ ὑπείροχον ἔμμεναι ἄλλων:

The result should be: Be brave, and take the lead in the ranks of the foremost!

Thanks for your help!

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Re: Transformation to direct speech needed!

Post by mwh »

You can actually leave it just as it is, since infinitives (which is what we have here) can also be used as imperatives. To change it would be to destroy it.

barbarus
Textkit Neophyte

Post by barbarus »

mwh wrote:You can actually leave it just as it is, since infinitives (which is what we have here) can also be used as imperatives.

I studied my ancient greek grammar book and indeed it's possible to use infinitives as imperatives. Thank you!
But i don't agree with you to leave ὑπείροχον unchangend. ὑπείροχος seems to be correct.
mwh wrote:To change it would be to destroy it.
Sometimes it's necessary in order to write grammatically correct. But of course i want to keep Homer's style and it's beauty.

Thank you for sharing your ideas, mwh!

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Post by mwh »

You're welcome, that's what's this forum's for. And you're quite right, you'll want to change υπειροχον to υπειροχος (whether it's addressed to a boy or a girl, a man or a woman), or to υπειροχοι if it's a group. It doesn't affect the meter, so the modification is fine.