Iliad 9, 225-227

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Iliad 9, 225-227

Post by Bart »

The Greek envoys are in Achilles' tent. After being treated to some nice meat roasted and cut by the big guy himself, Odysseus begins his speech thus:

χαῖρ᾽ Ἀχιλεῦ: δαιτὸς μὲν ἐΐσης οὐκ ἐπιδευεῖς
ἠμὲν ἐνὶ κλισίῃ Ἀγαμέμνονος Ἀτρεΐδαο
ἠδὲ καὶ ἐνθάδε νῦν,

I think that ειμέν should be understood with ἐπιδευεῖς. So, we have something like: we are not lacking an equal feast, nor in the tent of Agamemnon, nor here and now.
So, he just got X, and says: I don't lack something like X, nor in the past with A., nor now with you.

Is this Greek idom or just a very clumsy way of saying that the food and drink was above average? Or do I miss something?

Qimmik
Textkit Zealot

Re: Iliad 9, 225-227

Post by Qimmik »

I think this is a very subtle exchange.

Odysseus reminds Achilles that in the past Agamemnon has entertained him--and implies that Agamemnon is willing to meet his demands. Achilles' response conveys the message that of course Agamemnon has entertained him in the past (and may be willing to accommodate him now), but at this point, that's irrelevant; Achilles doesn't care.

δαιτὸς ἐΐσης -- denotes fairly divided portions of food at a feast, but here the implication is a fair division of spoils. That was Achilles' original complaint, but by now Achilles is already far beyond that.

Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Bart »

Okay, that helps. Thanks. Reminding Achilles of Agamemnon's hospitality in the past makes sense.
Still, the construction with ἐπιδευεῖς seems strange to me and hard to translate.

Qimmik
Textkit Zealot

Post by Qimmik »