Formulaic doublets

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
huilen
Textkit Member

Formulaic doublets

Post by huilen »

I've just found this paper: K. O'Nolan, Doublets in the Odyssey, which I've encountered in Cambridge G&L commentary by accident, but it reminded me that discussion about μῦθος καὶ ἔπος of the other day.

This is what I understood: according to the author, formulaic doublets (i.e: words that are essentially synonyms but that are used together in the same formula) are essentially the same kind of formulae that are noun-epithets formulae. Noun-epithets are tautological, when Homer says σπέσσι γλαφυροῖσι he is basically saying hollow hollows, and so are doublets according to the author: μύθος καὶ ἔπος would be, accepting that, a similar formula by which a single idea is expressed by two images, the same as any other noun-epithet formula. I understand that there is a lot writing about noun-epithets formulae, so I suppose that by this reductionism one could think about formulaic doublets as the same poetic device that noun-epithets are.

Here is the paper if someone is interested of how far might I distort the original idea of the author:
http://www.jstor.org/discover/10.2307/6 ... 4254862547

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Re: Formulaic doublets

Post by Paul Derouda »