Iliad 7, 97-98

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Iliad 7, 97-98

Post by Bart »

ἦ μὲν δὴ λώβη τάδε γ᾽ ἔσσεται αἰνόθεν αἰνῶς
εἰ μή τις Δαναῶν νῦν Ἕκτορος ἀντίος εἶσιν.

I don't think I have seen this construction before: future indicative in the apodosis and present indicative in the protasis (with μή). It's almost a future most vivid construction (a rare occurence, I remember from Mastronarde), but then you would expect the future indicative in both protasis and apodosis.
Is it because of εἶσιν having a future connotation (in attic at least, not sure about epic Greek)?
Last edited by Bart on Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Re: Iliad 7, 97-98

Post by mwh »

εἶσιν is here future, so you have future in both protasis and apodosis. Outside of epic the indicative is routinely future. In Homer it can be either future or present, acc. to context. Often it’s ambiguous (e.g. Achilles' ειμι).

As you’re aware, Mastronarde is not a guide to epic syntax, which can be significantly different (though not so much here). Among handy elementary guides, if I remember, is the intro to Stanford’s Odyssey.

Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Bart »

So, it is a regular future most vivid conditional sentence. Thanks.

Out of curiosity I took my copy from Mastronarde from under the proverbial dust -man, it seems ages since I started learning Greek with it!- to look what exactly he has to tell about this kind of construction. I remembered correctly that he says it is rare, especially in prose, but more common in drama and poetry, where it is mostly used in emotional exclamations (If you do this, I'll kill you!). That seems to be the context here too.

First time I meet this syntactical beast in the flesh, so to say. Nice.

iouchiza
Textkit Neophyte

Post by iouchiza »

Hi,