Reading book VI

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Reading book VI

Post by Bart »

Right at the beginning of book VI are these lines:

Ἄξυλον δ᾽ ἄρ᾽ ἔπεφνε βοὴν ἀγαθὸς Διομήδης
Τευθρανίδην, ὃς ἔναιεν ἐϋκτιμένῃ ἐν Ἀρίσβῃ
ἀφνειὸς βιότοιο, φίλος δ᾽ ἦν ἀνθρώποισι.
πάντας γὰρ φιλέεσκεν ὁδῷ ἔπι οἰκία ναίων.
ἀλλά οἱ οὔ τις τῶν γε τότ᾽ ἤρκεσε λυγρὸν ὄλεθρον
πρόσθεν ὑπαντιάσας, ἀλλ᾽ ἄμφω θυμὸν ἀπηύρα
αὐτὸν καὶ θεράποντα Καλήσιον, ὅς ῥα τόθ᾽ ἵππων
ἔσκεν ὑφηνίοχος: τὼ δ᾽ ἄμφω γαῖαν ἐδύτην.

I like the obituaries in the Iliad and this is the most touching so far. I would very much like to know more about this Axylos of Arisbe. It is partly the combination of detail and vagueness that makes these little asides so fascinating, as when Homer mentions the first Greek casualty, poor Protisilaus, killed while jumping ashore, leaving behind a wife and a half built house. This completely non-relevant detail stirs up the imagination, mine at least.

Translationwise φιλέεσκεν could both mean 'love' or 'receive as guest' I guess, and perhaps has shades of both.

What is striking in this particular obituary for Axylos is the sense of the loneliness of dying, on the battlefield or elsewhere, and the injustice of a good man not getting what he deserves.

The translator of the new edition of the Iliad in Dutch speaks of Homer as an anti-war poet, and though I think that's clearly projecting our own sensibilities into a different age, there's no denying that Homer offers no straightforward glorification of war. The death of Axylos is one of the many instances showing his (or her) sensibility to the suffering it inherently brings.
Last edited by Bart on Sun Jun 15, 2014 3:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Re: Reading book VI

Post by Paul Derouda »