Od. 7.12-13

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
huilen
Textkit Member

Od. 7.12-13

Post by huilen »

Sorry for the insistence, I am in a imperfect-revision phase :)
ἣ τρέφε Ναυσικάαν λευκώλενον ἐν μεγάροισιν.
ἥ οἱ πῦρ ἀνέκαιε καὶ εἴσω δόρπον ἐκόσμει.
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/tex ... 3Acard%3D1

I am in doubt with these imperfects. The first is clearly an iterative one, because the sense of τρέφω is iterative itself, right? But I am not sure about the other two: should I read "she used to lit a fire for her within and to prepare her supper"?

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Re: Od. 7.12-13

Post by Paul Derouda »

I don't think the first imperfect is "iterative" (=describing an action which is repeated many time) but rather "durative" (=lasting a long time, not punctual).

The second imperfect describes a single event; in my opinion, the imperfect is used instead of aorist because making a fire (like preparing food) is an action that requires some time and effort, it's really a whole series of actions (gathering the wood, piling them, putting some tinder, then putting the fire, blowing into the fire etc.). If she had started the fire with gasoline and a lighter, Homer would have used the aorist. ;) This use is really quite close to the inchoative imperfect, you could argue that the difference is more in how we interpret this than how a Greek would have understood it.

Another clue to interprete this as a single event rather than a habitual action is that here is a common technique used by Homer called "ring composition". When Homer enters a digression, it follows the pattern:
A
B
B
A
So here, in lines 7-8 the poet had said δαῖε δέ οἱ πῦρ / γρῆυς Ἀπειραίη, θαλαμηπόλος Εὐρυμέδουσα, so this repetion ἥ οἱ πῦρ ἀνέκαιε καὶ εἴσω δόρπον ἐκόσμει is used to get back from the digression into the main narrative.