πάρος + present tense

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
huilen
Textkit Member

πάρος + present tense

Post by huilen »

Hello everybody, could any one explain me why is the present tense used here?

καὶ λίην σε πάρος γ' οὐτ' εἴρομαι οὔτε μετάλλῶ,
ἀλλὰ μάλ' εὔκηλος τὰ φράζεαι, ἅσσ' ἐθέλῃσθα
(Iliad I. 553)

I understand that she says that she have never before (πάρος) neither ask nor inquire him, but he (always?) does what he wants to. If this is correct, why is not some past tense used instead of εἴρομαι/μετάλλῶ? Pharr has not made any comment about this in footnotes.

And another question by-the-way: should I let the conjuntion καί untranslated here? This is always a topic of confusion to me.

Markos
Textkit Zealot

Re: πάρος + present tense

Post by Markos »

huilen wrote:καὶ λίην σε πάρος γ' οὐτ' εἴρομαι οὔτε μετάλλῶ,
ἀλλὰ μάλ' εὔκηλος τὰ φράζεαι, ἅσσ' ἐθέλῃσθα
(Iliad I. 553)

...why is not some past tense used instead of εἴρομαι/μετάλλῶ?
In fact Gaza's paraphrase has imperfects:
καὶ λίαν σε ἐγὼ πρότερον οὔτε ἠρώτων, οὔτε ἀκριβῶς ἠρεύνων...

I think the present is used to make the tone more vivid and lively, sort of like the historical present.

"Before I get my first cup of coffee, I am hating life."
...should I let the conjuntion καί untranslated here?
Yes, the force of the connectives are to be felt rather than ignored or translated.

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Post by Paul Derouda »

It's an interesting question, and you have more or less hit the correct answer yourself. It's that this is a special case with πάρος. With πάρος, the present is normal in Homer, and this is actually pretty common in Homer. Maybe it's easier to understand the present if you translate πάρος "until now" (at least mentally, to internalize the construction) instead of "before" or "formerly", which is what the dictionaries give.