My answers to Schoder & Horrigan course, Lesson 101

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
huilen
Textkit Member

My answers to Schoder & Horrigan course, Lesson 101

Post by huilen »

Index of lessons

Lesson 101

Odyssey passage exercise

#206 καὶ τοτ' ἐγὼ Κύκλωπα προσηύδων ἄγχι παραστάς,
#207 κισσύβιον μετὰ χερσὶν ἔχων μέλανος οἴνοιο·
#208 "Κύκλωψ, τῆ, πίε οἶνον, ἐπεὶ φάγες ἀνδρόμεα κρέα,
#209 ὄφρ' εἰδῇς, oἷόν τι ποτὸν τόδε νηῦς ἐκεκεύθει
#210 ἡμετέρη· σοι δ' αὖ λοιβὴν φέρον, εἴ μ´ ἐλεήσας
#211 οἴκαδε πέμψειας· σύ δὲ μαίνεαι οὐκέτ' ἀνεκτῶς.
#212 σχέτλιε, πῶς κέν τίς σε καὶ ὕστερον ἄλλος ἵκοιτο
#213 ἀνθρώπων πολέων; ἐπεὶ οὐ κατὰ μοῖραν ἔρεξας."

Scanned verses:

#206 καῑ το̆τ' ε̆γω̄ Κῡκλω̄πᾰ προ̆ηῡδω̄ν ᾱγχῐ πᾰρᾱστᾰς,
#207 κῑσσῠβῐο̄ν με̆τᾰ χε̄ρσῐν ε̆χω̄ν με̆λᾰνο̄ς οῑνοῑο̆·
#208 "Κῡκλω̄ψ, τῃ̄, πῐε̆ οῑνο̆ν, ε̆πεῑ φᾰγε̆ς ᾱνδρο̆με̆ᾱ κρεᾱ,
#209 ο̄φρ' εῑδῃ̄ς, oῑο̄ν τῐ πο̆το̄ν το̆δε̆ νηῡς ε̆κε̆κεῡθεῑ
#210 η̄με̆τε̆ρη̄· σοῑ δ' αῡ λοῑβη̄ν φε̆ρο̆ν, εῑ μ´ ε̆λε̆η̄σᾰς
#211 οῑκᾰδε̆ πε̄μψεῑᾱς· σῠ δε̆ μαῑνε̆αῐ οῡκε̆τ' ᾰνε̄κτω̄ς.
#212 σχε̄τλῐε̆, πω̄ς κε̄ν τῑς σε̆ καῐ ῡστε̆ρο̆ν ᾱλλο̆ς ῐκοῑτο̆
#213 ᾱνθρω̄πω̄ν πο̆λε̆ω̄ν; ε̆πεῐ οῡ κᾰτᾰ μοῑρᾰν ε̆ρε̄ξᾰς."

#208 There is a synizesis in κρεα.

Translation:

So I came near and (lit: having come near) addressing the Cyclops, holding a drinking-bowl of dark wine between my hands, (I said to him): "Here, Cyclops! Drink wine, seeing that you (ἐπεὶ) eat human flesh, in order that you may know what sort of drinking our ship conceals; I was bringing again a libation to you, in order that you might pity and send us homeward; but you are mad in a way that is not longer endurable. O cruel (Cyclops), how would any of the many men come to you again, when you didn't behave according to the right (κατὰ μοῖραν)?