Is there a dictionary that gives syllable lengths

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
mdaftari
Textkit Neophyte

Is there a dictionary that gives syllable lengths

Post by mdaftari »

Hi all,

I am a new poster and am glad I found this site. I have been studying Pharr for the last two months. As part of my Homeric reading, I have been trying to read the text out loud and get a feel for the meter of the poem. There are times when i do struggle in determining whether a syllable is long or short. Is there a dictionary that includes the lengths. I think this would help in learning the Homeric text.

Polyidos
Textkit Neophyte

Re: Is there a dictionary that gives syllable lengths

Post by Polyidos »

I'm sorry to see that nobody responded to your question in a timely manner, but let me try to offer some assistance at this point.

First, it probably helps to reserve the terms 'long' and short' for vowels (or diphthongs) and note that they refer to the amount of time taken to pronounce these sounds. For the purposes of establishing how words fit into the metre it is now common practice to use the terms 'heavy' and 'light' to describe syllables. This helps to avoid an otherwise confusing ambiguity in the terms.

Now, to begin, I'll point out what it probably obvious: since ω and η represent long vowels, syllables containing them generally count as heavy for the purposes of the metre; ο and ε represent short vowels and so syllables containing them generally count as light for the purposes of metre; syllables containing a diphthong, which requires about the same amount to time to pronounce as a long vowel, generally count as heavy for the purposes of metre. This means that only the vowels α, ι, υ are capable of representing either a long or short vowel and so might need to be marked in a dictionary.