Iliad 2:768-769. Antecedent of O(

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Bert
Textkit Zealot

Iliad 2:768-769. Antecedent of O(

Post by Bert »

[size=150]ἀνδρῶν αὖ μέγ’ ἄριστος ἔην τελαμώνιος αἴας ὄφρ’ )αχιλεὺς μήνιεν· ὃ γὰρ πολὺ φέρτατος ἦεν,[/size]
When I read these two lines I understood O( to refer to Telamw/vioj.
Every 10-15 lines I check my understanding with an English translation.
This is how I found that O( refers to Achilles.
This makes perfect sense, but when you read Greek as slow as I do, it is hard to use context to determine something like this.
Is there some rule of thumb to determine the antecedent to a pronoun?
What pronoun should have been used if it did refer to Telamw/nioj?

Paul
Textkit Zealot

Re: Iliad 2:768-769. Antecedent of O(

Post by Paul »

Bert wrote:[size=150]ἀνδρῶν αὖ μέγ’ ἄριστος ἔην τελαμώνιος αἴας ὄφρ’ )αχιλεὺς μήνιεν· ὃ γὰρ πολὺ φέρτατος ἦεν,[/size]

Is there some rule of thumb to determine the antecedent to a pronoun?
What pronoun should have been used if it did refer to Telamw/nioj?
Hi Bert,

Unless context dictates otherwise, I think it's safest to assume that this anaphoric use of the article refers to the person or thing just mentioned (cf. 1.9, 1.404, 1.581).

Sometimes context governs, as in 1.12.

Although [size=150]ἐκεῖνος[/size] is primarily deictic, it can also be used anaphorically. This pronoun would, I think, be used to denote the remoter (earlier in the text) antecedent.

But I think the context of 768-770 also makes clear that the 'article' refers to Achilles.

Cordially,

Paul

Bert
Textkit Zealot

Re: Iliad 2:768-769. Antecedent of O(

Post by Bert »

Paul wrote:
Unless context dictates otherwise, I think it's safest to assume that this anaphoric use of the article refers to the person or thing just mentioned (cf. 1.9, 1.404, 1.581).