Commentary Question

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Kopio
Global Moderator

Commentary Question

Post by Kopio »

Hello All,

I am getting a bit more serious about Homeric (even though I'm waaaay behind on turning in translations to the Odyssey Group) and I'm looking at procuring a commentary. These are the commentaries recommended by my Classical Greek prof....have any of you used them? WHat would you recommend??

Here's the list:

Bloom, Harold Homer's Odyssey
Heubeck, Alfred and Hoekstra, Arie A Commentary on Homer's Odyssey
Page, Denys The Homeric Odyssey
Powell, Barry B. and Morris, I. A New Companion to Homer
Schein, Seth Reading the Odyssey
Wace, Alan and Stubbings, Frank A Companion to Homer

Any comments would be greatly appreciated. I am mainly looking for syntactical/grammatical commentaries....my prof said he thought that the Heubeck commentary might be my best bet, but he wasn't entirely sure.

swiftnicholas
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by swiftnicholas »

I'm not familiar with Homeric commentaries, but have two comments. If Harold Bloom is the Harold Bloom of Princeton, I would stay away for two reasons: his English scholarship leaves something to be desired, and I'm under the impression that he has little to no Greek. The Wace and Stubbings Companion to Homer is a wonderful book, but it is not a commentary. It is a collection of studies on Homeric subjects such as geography, history, culture, food and clothing, technology, and even a helpful section on Homeric Grammar. I found it enjoyable and scholarly, but perhaps someone else would know if it is the most current?

annis
Textkit Zealot

Re: Commentary Question

Post by annis »

Kopio wrote:my prof said he thought that the Heubeck commentary might be my best bet, but he wasn't entirely sure.