Homeric Frustrations:

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
JauneFlammee
Textkit Neophyte

Homeric Frustrations:

Post by JauneFlammee »

Just looking for sympathy: I'm reading through the Iliad and I'm on book 6: line 240: I'm going to make it through the first Loeb book even if it kills me, and then I'm going to frame the little tattered green paper cover and hang it on my wall as a trophy.

I almost always get messed up following complicated trails of pronouns; I can never seem to get the right he and him who is doing things to whom.

Twice this week, i badly mangled passages by confusing Theon (imperfect verb - they ran) with Theov ( God - singular accusative).Along with a random variety of other assorted silly errors.

And then there seem to be some things that are basically just impossible to grasp without some commentary : Like the 'Thumos-destroying signs' for Bellerophon in 6:168. Or like somewhere in one of the earlier chapters where Homer compared some scream to Storks (or some other bird I can't quite recall) landing on some island (I think I read in commentary or dictionary or something the island was inhabited by little people - did the storks eat them, or step on them - I have no idea).

Despite all this it is definitely worth it though, Homer is a magnificent poet. Also, those ocassional paragraphs I hit where i can just sit down and read it intelligibly , make it really worth it. All in all, one of the hardest most worthwile things I've done. I'm hoping with a few more books under my belt it will get easier (actually I can already see much progress compared to my efforts with books 2 and 3).

I think someone should start a thread for the most mangled translation of a passage: that might be fun (Although I must warn I may be a clear favorite to grasp victory)

Bert
Textkit Zealot

Post by Bert »