Genitive Absolute and Predicate adjective

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
vir litterarum
Textkit Zealot

Genitive Absolute and Predicate adjective

Post by vir litterarum »

τί δὴ λέγοντες διέβαλλον οἱ διαβάλλοντες; ὥσπε? οὖν κατηγό?ων τὴν ἀντωμοσίαν δεῖ ἀναγνῶναι α?τῶν:
P.A. 19b

is "κατηγό?ων...α?τῶν" a genitive absolute with "wn" understood?

π?ῶτον μὲν οὖν δίκαιός εἰμι ἀπολογήσασθαι, ὦ ἄνδ?ες Ἀθηναῖοι, π?ὸς τὰ π?ῶτά μου ψευδῆ κατηγο?ημένα καὶ τοὺς π?ώτους κατηγό?ους,
P.A. 18a

is ψευδῆ predicate?

Kasper
Textkit Zealot

Post by Kasper »

HI Vir,

I am far from an expert on any of this, but as for your first question i don't think it is an G.A.

I think Socrates is impliedly saying that his accusers are not really accusers in the legal sense, but slanderers, and equally is their accusation not really a legal accusation, i.e. a writ or indictment in english terms, but mere slander.

So he says: "So what do these slandering slanderers say to slander me? For [now that we are in a court of law] as if of accusers [in the legal sense, i.e. plaintiffs] must this complaint of theirs [i.e. oi diaballontes] be understood."

Anyway, that's how it seems to me. The apology always strikes me as very hard, because almost every word seems to have a double meaning.
“Cum ego verbo utar,” Humpty Dumpty dixit voce contempta, “indicat illud quod optem – nec plus nec minus.”
“Est tamen rogatio” dixit Alice, “an efficere verba tot res indicare possis.”
“Rogatio est, “Humpty Dumpty responsit, “quae fiat magister – id cunctum est.”

Helma
Textkit Neophyte

Re: Genitive Absolute and Predicate adjective

Post by Helma »

vir litterarum
Textkit Zealot

Post by vir litterarum »

So what usage of the genitive is κατηγό?ων?

Kasper
Textkit Zealot

Post by Kasper »

:D

Well, what categories do you allow? (seriously, i'd like to know.)