I don't know where to go now...

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
Herodotus
Textkit Neophyte

I don't know where to go now...

Post by Herodotus »

Hello people, this is my first post and it's 10:30 just before I go to bed because i'm really tired, so please be gentle if I have broken some arcane etiquette rule.

I've been learning greek now for about 6 months. I have read Greek to GCSE parts 1, 2 and 'beyond GCSE' several times each, but now i'm stuck... :cry: I have tried reading the Loeb version of Anabasis and it's impossibly difficult. I've also tried other texts with facing commentary, grammar and vocab. The problems I have are the breadth of the vocabulary, the weird grammar which is nothing like the textbook expositions and finally the excessive use of particles and idioms. Frankly, I feel like giving up. Does anyone know of anything that is more difficult than toy textbook phrases, but not crazy difficult? thank you for reading about my woes.

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Re: I don't know where to go now...

Post by jeidsath »

See the Greek Readers thread below, but Lucian is a great author, and there are a number of extremely good intermediate readers that should give you all the help that you need:

Here is Lucian's Dialogues of the Gods at Faenum Publishing. It's very well done, and the PDF version is free to download. Here is the Bryn Mawr review.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

daivid
Administrator

Post by daivid »

Tell me about it! There is a huge gulf between textbooks and actual Greek.