good beginning Greek textbook -- recommendations?

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
Stoic
Textkit Neophyte

good beginning Greek textbook -- recommendations?

Post by Stoic »

I've been studying Latin for several years, and I'm beginning to think about starting ancient Greek on my own. Someone has recommended Mastronarde to me, but I'm wondering if there are differences of opinion about this.

Thanks.

annis
Textkit Zealot

Re: good beginning Greek textbook -- recommendations?

Post by annis »

Stoic wrote: Someone has recommended Mastronarde to me, but I'm wondering if there are differences of opinion about this.
To someone who has studied Latin for several years, most of the currently available textbooks should be fine. It has been a while since I've seen M.'s book, but I can recall nothing striking about it, either good or bad.
William S. Annis — http://www.aoidoi.org/http://www.scholiastae.org/
τίς πατέρ' αἰνήσει εἰ μὴ κακοδαίμονες υἱοί;

cwcoonce
Textkit Neophyte

Post by cwcoonce »

I have had some experience with a number of text books for Ancient Greek, and I think Mastronarde is one of the very best to use. In particular, the thing that stands out is his strict adherence to learned vocabulary in the exercises he provides for each chapter. His is the only text I have found that sticks to the vocabulary in the exercises, and this is critical for a learner, I think. Further, I think his approach to the language is quite logical. Lastly, I must say that his text covers a broad range of grammar and vocabulary - more than some of the other standard texts for 1st year study. All in all, I think this is a wonderful text book for the study of Greek.