Accents in the declinsion

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
Asterix
Textkit Neophyte

Accents in the declinsion

Post by Asterix »

Hello

I'm currently studying Greek and have slowly but gradually progress. But I haven't really understood why accents change. Has anyone a step by step explination of the accents in the a-declinsion? I can't follow the explanitations of the manual.

Thanks

Timotheus
Textkit Member

Post by Timotheus »

what text are you using?

HenryClay
Textkit Neophyte

Post by HenryClay »

Well, it depends on where the accent falls to begin with. Basically:

Accents are persistent. That is, they tend to remain on the same syllable and follow the normal rules. So a disyllabic word like cho/ra^, the acute accent will persist on the penultimate syllable throughout.

In the a-declension, the only weirdness is that the genetive plural always recieves a circumflex. The reason for that is because historically, the o^n ending is actually contracted.

If the word accents the final syllable, the word will recieve a circumflex on the genetive and singular both singular and plural.

Just remember that in a trisyllabic word like thalatta, in which the first syllable is accented. When the inflection makes the final syllable long, like in the genetive singular, the accent will have to move to the second syllable.

I hope this helps.

Asterix
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Asterix »

I'm studying with First Greek Book from JWW.

I would like to ask for a step by step explination of the accents of the words in leson 8 and 9, I mean the o - declinsion.

Thank you for yor help, I can only apreciate it.

Skylax
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Skylax »

HenryClay wrote: So a disyllabic word like cho/ra^, the acute accent will persist on the penultimate syllable throughout.