Help for a Newbie

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
achates1
Textkit Neophyte

Help for a Newbie

Post by achates1 »

Hello everyone!

I'm extremely interested in learning Ancient and Koine Greek. I've got a lot of Latin experience (well, four years - I've read through most of the Aeneid, parts of Metamorphoses, poems of Catullus, etc.), and I'm wondering where to begin. I'd like to be able to read the LXX, New Testament, Xenophon, and Plato initially. I've heard it's a good idea to start with Ancient Greek, and that Xenophon is not too difficult.

What should I do?

Thanks, and thanks for such a fantastic web site!

Achates :)
P.S. I'm currently at a University, so I'd imagine the best idea would be to take a class. However, as far as scheduling goes, I wouldn't be able to take a class until at least Fall '05.

chad
Textkit Zealot

Post by chad »

hi achates :) if you'd like to learn to read those authors, i think it'd be better to learn attic greek (rather than koine) first... lots of "teach yourself greek" type books teach you attic greek, including a few of the textbooks here on textkit in the "learn ancient greek" link.

having studied latin, you should have no probs starting with any of those books (some of which assume a latin background).

once you've studied the basics of attic, i think the best books to start with would be plato's euthyphro and apology. there's an apology annotated reader here on textkit, and the euthyphro is quite easy to read: it's once of plato's simplest texts. good luck with it :)

achates1
Textkit Neophyte

Post by achates1 »

Thanks for the help.

Has anyone here read Mastronarde's book on Attic Greek? It is supposed to be really great for self-study.

Also, what do you think about this guy's suggestions (mainly the part about starting with Homeric Greek):