Self-Learning Greek

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
brandonmason
Textkit Neophyte

Self-Learning Greek

Post by brandonmason »

Hi all --

I'm a full time college student majoring in classical languages. Due to a schedule conflict, I can't take first semester Greek in the fall and don't want to have to put it off a year. My professor doesn't think trying to learn a semester's worth of Greek on my own is do-able.

So... I'd like to see what you all think about it. I'd need to go from complete scratch to being prepared to translate new testament greek. How doable is this? Suggestions as for curriculum, the best books on textkit, recommendations for books to buy, etc.

thanks!

klewlis
Global Moderator

Post by klewlis »

It's definitely doable if you are a hard worker and motivated. :)

If it is koine that you want (you mentioned reading NT) then definitely go with Mounce's grammar... it has the bonus of a cdrom to help with certain things, and I hear it's really great (haven't tried it myself). There are also lots of resources here on textkit and elsewhere on the web, and we are always available to help too!

If you are focusing on classical instead, someone else here can recommend a good textbook... but then it might be best to use whatever the first year greek class at your school is using so that you are all on the same page.
First say to yourself what you would be; then do what you need to do. ~Epictetus

brandonmason
Textkit Neophyte

Yes, Koine

Post by brandonmason »

Thanks.

The second term will be tackling the New Testament, so yes it should probably be Koine Greek.