Starting a beginners' Wheelock study group.

Are you learning Latin with Wheelock's Latin 6th Edition? Here's where you can meet other learners using this textbook. Use this board to ask questions and post your work for feedback.

Would you participate in a beginners' Wheelock group?

Poll ended at Tue Jul 26, 2005 4:54 pm

Who would like to start a new Wheelock study group?
67%
Is there anyone studying the first 6 chapters of Wheelock?
33%

Total votes: 3

christophershelt
Textkit Neophyte

Starting a beginners' Wheelock study group.

Post by christophershelt »

I have just started working on Wheelock again after a fairly long absence. I am completely new, really, to Latin, even though I studied Wheelock on my own for a couple of months last Fall. I have been taking classical and koine Greek as well, and just finished a semester of an online course generously taught by Prof. Pozzi at the Univ. of Houston. Greek doesn't begin again until late August and I want to try and study both languages, though now I'm concentrating on Latin.
I do not have the few hundred dollars that the online language courses want (and they deserve it, I'm sure...I'm just not able to afford them). So, I use Prof. Grote's Wheelock page and anything else I can find on the internet. I'm glad to see that there are moderators like Bessimus who have some knowledge of the language and who might be persuaded to give advice and helpful suggestions.
So, if there is anyone who would like to start a beginners' group (starting together at some point amenable to all and using whatever texts--preferably Wheelock texts--according to an agreed upon syllabus) please contact me by reply to this message or by contacting me directly at christophershelt@netscape.com. I'm looking forward to hearing from anyone interested.