Teaching Children (and Dog)

Are you learning Latin with Wheelock's Latin 6th Edition? Here's where you can meet other learners using this textbook. Use this board to ask questions and post your work for feedback.
PaulThatcher
Textkit Neophyte

Teaching Children (and Dog)

Post by PaulThatcher »

Good day:

I am new to TextKit forums.

My bride and I homeschool our children who will be learning Latin through Veritas Press suggested curriculum. Wheelock will be the primary textbook when they reach 6th grade level.

I do not know Latin. I have done some minor self-study using Wheelock.

In the meantime, we just acquired a puppy for our new farm. I wish to use Latin for all her commands; however, I do not wish to teach the children wrong or impose any bad habits. I desire assistance in translating the following imperatives properly consistent with Wheelock and classical pronunciation. These are the commands our puppy trainer sent to us to have Latin equivalents ready before the first session. The dog is female. Any help is much appreciated!

• Sit
    Stay
    Down
    Off
    Here
    Your Place
    Bed
    Leave it
    Crate
    Touch
    Come
    Wait
    Focus
    Stop
    Puppy
    Potty

Kasper
Textkit Zealot

Re: Teaching Children (and Dog)

Post by Kasper »

Hi Paul,

I think this is so much fun. My wife and I have a labrador puppy who is now 1 year old, and speaks Dutch, English, German and Latin. Admittedly, the words are accompanied by hand gestures, and she might be responding more to these than the verbal commands.

I don't use all the commands you refer to, but these are the ones I do use in latin:

Sede
Cade
Mane
Veni
Vora (because ede sounds too much like sede, and it suits her eating habits)
Pedem (my dog understands that 'da' is implied).
In tegetem (again she understands the implied verb).
Ramem.
“Cum ego verbo utar,” Humpty Dumpty dixit voce contempta, “indicat illud quod optem – nec plus nec minus.”